Eat your veggies! [produce saver]

Most evenings I eat a large salad. I love salads, but I don’t enjoy making them. What has been frustrating (besides the cost of eating healthier … I do plan on starting a small vegetable garden next year so feel free to share your tips!) is that by the time I’m done preparing my salad, my husband has already finished eating his entire dinner!

Washing all of the veggies and fruits was extremely time consuming and when I tried to wash any of the produce in advance, it wilted almost immediately. Way to motivate me Mother Nature!

Eating the prepackaged/pre-washed lettuce made things easier, but the lettuce did not stay fresh very long and just didn’t taste the same to me.

A few weeks ago, I bought the Rubbermaid Produce Saver containers in hopes of making my journey of being healthier a little less painful.

Some of the features that convinced me to give them a try:

  • Fresh Vent allows produce to breathe
  • Crisp Tray separates produce from moisture
  • Several sizes

I now buy a head (or two or three) of lettuce, wash it, run it through a lettuce spinner (I use this OXO one), and then store it in the Rubbermaid Produce Saver containers. The lettuce has been staying fresh and crisp for up to a week! SCORE!

Produce Saver
Produce Saver
I mostly use the containers for lettuce, but have also tried them for other veggies and fruits such as cucumbers, onions, peppers, and grapes. What a wonderful timesaver! It’s a lot easier to stay motivated when the process is easier and less time consuming!

Salad
~ A salad I ate the other night ~
Some of what I like on my salads:

Tomato
Avocado
Bell Pepper
Cucumber
Red Onion
Apple
Walnuts or Pumpkin Seeds
Tuna
Flax Seed Oil & Vinegar
Himalayan Crystal Salt & Tellicherry Pepper

What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

