Vitamix mashed potatoes recipe

Today, I searched high and low for a mashed potatoes recipe using a Vitamix. All I found is nay sayers – it’s not possible! I got a little sad and emotional … Why not?! It can do everything from making salad dressing to kneading dough! Why are mashed potatoes not possible?! I refused to believe it. So it began …

I steamed 2 lbs of potatoes for a little over 30 minutes. It may take more or less time depending on the size of your potatoes.

Once done, I added half a cup of unsweetened almond milk and 2 tbsp of whipped buttery spread to the Vitamix. I then added all of the potatoes and turned on the wonder-machine. I started at Variable 1 and worked it up to 5 pushing down the potatoes with the tamper. I didn’t time myself, but I’d say it took less than a minute to achieve the consistency I wanted.

I transferred everything into a bowl, mixed in a minced garlic clove and Himalayan pink salt, and then folded in about 3 oz of mild cheddar cheese shreds. Voila! Delicious!

List of ingredients:

2 lbs potatoes

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

2 tbsp whipped buttery spread

1 garlic clove, minced

Himalayan pink salt, to taste

3 oz mild cheddar cheese shreds

If you don’t have a Vitamix and have been considering one, I highly recommend it (I use mine every day!). You can buy a certified reconditioned one for $300 and it’s backed by a 5 year full warranty!

It is pretty loud and my 2 year old son hates it, but he loves seeing all the bubbles when I clean it! Have I mentioned how easy it is to clean it?! It’s one of the reasons I was sold!

Image: Wikipedia

I haven’t gotten to taking a picture of my mashed potatoes yet! Will add later. 😉

One thought on “Vitamix mashed potatoes recipe

Leave a Reply

